Making it a Win

Another day, still in a pretty good mood. Although, I’m not as on top of things as I should be today. I forgot to grab my snack and my lunch before I came to work this morning. I suppose I could hit WinCo today and pick up some chow mein noodle things or something. Beyond that, I’m feeling really, really good. Upped my push ups and crunches this morning, really felt like it was working this morning, so clearly it was time. Logged a little over 5 minutes on the elliptical this morning too. That really felt like it was doing something for me. Definitely going in the right direction. Now, to get Copper the Wonder Dachshund back to sleeping through the night, and getting the apartment cleaned up and everything on the personal front should be as good as it’s going to get.

Educationally, I’m a little concerned. I’m close to finished with my math class, but I’m only about 60 percent sure I’ll be able to get everything caught up to the point where I’ll only have to finish my tests and final on Monday. That would really make my month if I could get to that point though.  Math and I have a very… tenuous relationship, I’m not a mathematician like Scott Steiner, but who is really? Still, with a solid plan and consistent execution I can get it done. Critical Thinking and Problem solving is going to have to end up being a “B” grade, but considering I completed missed one assignment, to have a very high B is a damn good grade. Once I get these math credits out of the way, I’ll be very, very excited.

Professionally, I’m back to doubting whether I belong here. Not because of the work, but because it’s like I’m working a high school slumber party. Listening to who’s a bitch, who’s having sex with who, who’s a whore, and who’s a douchebag. It’s annoying, because well, I thought I was working with adults. I try not to get caught up in that, in fact I’ve taken on kind of a mercenary mindset. I show up, do what I have to do for me, and to make sure my employer is happy… my co-workers, I could care less about. The downside to that mentality is that it will limit my ability to advance, but honestly I think that ship sailed when I lost my drive earlier this year. Right now, just a matter of maintaining, I’ve updated my resume, using some tips from the career services department at DeVry, and I’ve gotten more calls for interviews than I did before the update. I’m looking for part time work right now, but if the right full time opportunity comes along, I’ll be on top of it. It feels like I’ve written about most of this before though.

All in all, life is good. I think the whole exercising thing has really brought me out of the emotional funk I had been in for awhile. I’m more upbeat now than I was, which is good cause even I don’t like me when I’m depressed. Regardless, I’m feeling awesome right now, and I’m doing my best to keep the feeling good train rolling.

About SteelCitySaint

I tried to stop me, but I'm too fantastic. Feel free to take a look at my blog and leave a comment on whatever it is I'm writing about.

Leave a Reply

