Reflections on the Year

2010 is almost over, and that means it’s a time to reflect on what has happened, what hasn’t happened, and what I need to adjust to get where I want (or need) to go in my life. Lately, I’ve been doing more questioning of things going on in my life. The direction I’m taking in various aspects of my life and all of that noise. I’ve come to some conclusions.

Professionally, I’m stuck. I have no desire to continue down the current career path, in fact the only thing keeping me where I’m at is that I want to build some stability into my life. Maybe with some of the rumored staff changes in the near future, maybe I’ll want to stay here. Still, I’ve got the feelers out there for other positions, but nothing has come through for me yet. I guess employers are taking credit scores more seriously than I thought.

My financial life, overall is fine. I still have a lot of ground to make up though. If you had asked me ten years ago if I would have a miserably low credit score I would have laughed at you. Luckily, after looking over my credit score, most of the old debts I have are small so I should be able to pull up my score relatively quickly. If I can expand on the things I do make payments on (like a proper cell phone, maybe a secured credit card), I would be helping myself. My student loans are helping me, as is my truck loan. I’ve never been late on the truck payment (well, seriously late I was a couple days late once… that was a huge mess) and since the student loans are deferred they’re making me look better. So my number one goal in 2011 is to improve my credit score to the point that I’m not an extreme risk for creditors.

Romantically, things are getting better, even though at this point I don’t really think I’m all that good of a boyfriend. I’ve made a lot of missteps and a lot of things got misconstrued. I have a long way to go before I feel like I’m even remotely worthy of the faith she’s shown in me. I’ve always been unlikely to believe I’m actually a worthwhile boyfriend. So, that’s going to be a big struggle for me. Hopefully I can find the good in me so I can give the best to Tasha.

My own personal happiness is going to be addressed this coming year as well. I haven’t been very happy overall since I moved out here to Utah. Homesickness is a hell of a disease. So, I’m making an effort to go out and do some things I enjoy. I’ve found a few people that play Magic: the Gathering so I’ll be getting into that first. Then, I’ll probably end up joining a bowling league or something. It’s always good to get some human interaction going. A lot harder to do that when you’re so tired of dealing with morons at work, you don’t really want to go out. So I have to force myself to do that. I’m also considering getting into Arena Football, since it’s a little difficult to follow the Steelers here without having DirecTV’s NFL Sunday Ticket. Although the Utah Blaze are terrible, I need a team to follow. Maybe I should look into season tickets, since they seem to be relatively inexpensive.

The other goals I have for the coming year focus on losing weight, and getting more focused in my schoolwork. I’m back up to 328 pounds, that’s just too much. I figure if I can make a solid go at losing weight I’ll be alright by the end of 2011. My ultimate goal is to reach 225 pounds, my first goal is to get down to 290 pounds. I think with better eating habits and regular exercise I’ll be able to do it. I have a little bit of faith in myself for this one. As for my schoolwork, I’ve been slacking. I need to focus and really do my absolute best. A degree might be just what I need to get to the next step of my personal evolution (I hope I become a Charizard, personally). Still, even if I end up staying where I am at I still have that degree and that’ll give me something to post on my wall in the office here.

Ultimately, the changes I need to make are related to making myself better. If I make myself better, in theory, everything else in my life will come together in a more positive manner. God gave me the power to change my world, maybe it’s time I start using it for something more than masturbatory purposes. 2011 will be a banner year for me, Thomas Ingram, cause I am THE SHOW and I AM AMAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAZING!!!

On an unrelated note, the song of the day today is “Happy in the Meantime” by Lit.

About SteelCitySaint

I tried to stop me, but I'm too fantastic. Feel free to take a look at my blog and leave a comment on whatever it is I'm writing about.

Leave a Reply

