Starting Over, Completely Over

Since Super Bowl Sunday, I haven’t been making much of an effort to stick with my weight loss program and goals. A severe lack of motivation and bit of stress have made it difficult for me since I like to eat when I’m stressed and without motivation there’s no desire to burn off the calories. I’ve kind of written off February, not quite completely but just until the 28th, which is when I’ll start my weight loss goal over again. Since most of my stress is related to getting my vehicle registration renewed, safety and emission inspection, and making sure my two latest expenses are paid (new insurance premium and cell bill)… once I get through this month I think I’ll be in a good position to get back on track and make a real good go at this. I know what I need to do to drop the weight, so I’m in a much better position than when I started at the beginning of the year. I think I’ll try to start documenting what I eat and all of that good stuff. Maybe see what else I can do to really make the results more noticeable more quickly.

I’m also going to try and show more of my results here in the blog. Maybe post some photos at the end of each month to show my progress and all that good stuff. Maybe once in awhile post a video blog entry. I’m mostly sure about photos, not as sure about the potential video entries. I’d need a mic for that, and at the moment I don’t have one. I’ll probably update everyone on that front as we get closer to the restart date.

I also think I need to budget a little more towards groceries. Spend more on fresh vegetables, juices, and healthier things like that. Leaner meats as well, since I can only eat so much chicken and fish before I need a change. Lean beef and pork shouldn’t hurt, and I also need to plan on one day a month where I can cheat a little bit. A few extra calories one day shouldn’t hurt, in fact it may help keep my system from getting too comfortable with what I’m doing. I’d like to start eating granola and more calories during breakfast, in theory it’ll give my body more time to burn them.

On the workout front, most of what I’m doing has been effective. I think once I get down to the high 280s, I’m going to look into parkour. I think it could be a useful skill, and based on the shape of some of the more well known disciples of parkour, it could prove to be an effective workout. Then once I get closer to 250 or so, maybe I’ll add a martial art of some sort (I’m leaning towards muay thai currently). Initially though, it’ll mostly be calisthenics, elliptical training and a combination of both as circuit training. Since Patrick should be back to 100% by the time I start again, longer walks with the wieners will also be part of the plan. I figure 20 minute walks, 3 or 4 times a day will certainly help not only me, but also Copper who’s gotten chubby.

I figure as long as I continue trying to reach my goal, I’ll be able to drop this weight. As I drop the weight, I think I’ll become more confident. Confidence will bring a better mood. A better mood, in theory, will lead to better things happening in my life. Ultimately, it’s up to me to make this work. I could use some moral support though, folks. On the off chance someone close to Salt Lake is reading this, I could use a workout buddy. I doubt anyone is, but I never know for sure.

On a completely unrelated note, the song of the day is, “Merry Happy” by Kate Nash.

About SteelCitySaint

I tried to stop me, but I'm too fantastic. Feel free to take a look at my blog and leave a comment on whatever it is I'm writing about.

Leave a Reply

