For Once…

For once I feel like I’m on top of things. I haven’t felt like this in a long time. I have a job, although it’s not what I had hoped it would be. I have a great girlfriend, and her family seems to have accepted me. While my truck needs some work, I do have a truck and it gets me to and from my job. All but one of my monthly bills is paid, and the utilities aren’t due until later this month. I did my workout a little early this evening, and added even more time spent on the elliptical, and I’m feeling like this losing weight thing is going to be easier than I had anticipated. Overall, I can’t think of when my life has been better… at least not since I’ve been a grown up.

As any regular readers of my blog know, I’ve been trying to get back to the same weight I was in my senior year of high school, 225 pounds. When I restarted my journey to better health and a slimmer me, I was at 325 pounds. Tomorrow marks my first week back into the cycle of trying to get my weight down, and become a slimmer and more handsome me. I’m at 322.2 pounds, that’s a 2.8 pound difference from the start. While it’s a little more than is generally accepted as a healthy weight loss, I think health is one of the many sciences that isn’t one size fit all. Smoking doesn’t guarantee you’re going to get cancer, being obese doesn’t guarantee you’re going to get diabetes, and some people can eat as much as they want and not gain a pound. Each person is different, and as such each person’s body can handle different things better than others. For example, my brother and I both drink and when we do we tend to have deep philosophical conversations… my brother’s friend (former friend, or whatever they are now) has a drink and falls over, pisses himself, and plays ‘practical jokes’ that aren’t funny. Our bodies all handle things differently, I know that if I don’t feel right I’ll slow down on the workout front. Too many people need me for me to overdo it and cause myself some permanent damage.

Soon a first in my life will be marked, as I will soon be testifying in a court case. It’s a civil case I’ve been put in the middle of it by a fabricator and one of their clients. Both are saying I told them one thing or another, and gave them a letter. I have no idea how that’s going to turn out, but it’s helped me kick my job search into a higher gear. If I have a back up plan, I can protect myself from the worst of what could come out of this. So, there’s that. Here’s hoping everything goes the way I want it to and soon.

To finish up, the song of the day is “Dreaming of You” by The Corals

About SteelCitySaint

I tried to stop me, but I'm too fantastic. Feel free to take a look at my blog and leave a comment on whatever it is I'm writing about.

Leave a Reply

