I’ve Got a Motivation Problem

It’s April 4, 2011, 9:08 am, I’m sitting at my desk at work. I’ve got a lot on my mind, nothing too terribly serious overall. If only because I have time to rectify some of the things that are bothering the most. For example, I want to get back into the habit of working out, either in the morning or in the evening after work. I want to get back on that track before Tasha and I start hitting the gym. I can get most of my calisthenics done in the morning, and then straight cardio in the evenings. My problem is that I can’t seem to stay motivated enough to keep on doing the work necessary to make it a regular habit. If anyone has good ideas for maintaining motivation while working out I’m all ears, figuratively speaking.

I’m also thinking about the idea of putting together a video blog series. The problem with that is that I’m not focused on a single topic, and not really passionate enough to make it entertaining. I’ve done a few dry runs, including an entry that got published via this blog here. I’ve got the basic technicals down, and all of that, just a matter of having a topic to really discuss in a video format. If I can get back on the workout track, then maybe my weight loss and exercise could be a topic for the video blog. Maybe it’s an idea I should just scrap for now. Then again, a lot of the stuff over on Youtube isn’t actually entertaining nor informative, so maybe I shouldn’t worry so much about it and just do it.

I’ve also been thinking about my professional path. I think I mentioned that the court case I was to testify in has already taken place (without me) and the fabricators won the case. While I’m not sure that’s the end of it, for the time being it really takes away a lot of the urgency I had to find other work. While I’m still looking for a more lucrative path, I’m not looking at every possibility now. Only possibilities that interest me the most, and considering a complete reboot of my professional path. While I’m not sure about the whole nursing thing, it’s definitely a stronger possibility than it was a few months ago. I do need to see if I can find something about the position one of my fiancee’s co-workers mentioned to her, $15 an hour isn’t bad. It’d be a hundred or so more dollars a week, which I could use to get my life back on track.

I have a lot of work to do to get where I want to get to. I don’t know exactly how far I want to take it, but I know I need to do something more than what I have been. I’m capable of so much more. If I had more motivation, or at least less of a problem maintaining my motivation I’d be ruling the world by now. As it stands, I’m still unsure of my place in the world. What I do know is that the song of the day is “Diamond in the Rough” by Social Distortion.

About SteelCitySaint

I tried to stop me, but I'm too fantastic. Feel free to take a look at my blog and leave a comment on whatever it is I'm writing about.

Leave a Reply

