Red Flags…

redflag

It was an interesting weekend. Saturday after work, went out to dinner with Tasha and took in a movie. We tried this place called Smashburger, and it wasn’t bad, but not nearly as good as my co-worker had claimed. The sides were the best part, between the sweet potato fries Tasha chose and the Hay Stack Onions (think Bloomin’ Onions in a ring form) I chose they were more unique than the offering at Five Guys. Still I think Five Guys is the better burger and that’s really what I’m paying money to eat when I go to a burger place.

We then went to and saw the Green Hornet. I’m not the biggest fan of Seth Rogen, but I really liked his voice work in Monsters vs. Aliens, and I thought he was one of the best parts of the 40 Year Old Virgin. So it was worth a shot, and there was some good action to be had in the film. I would definitely buy the Green Hornet on DVD in the future. It was a solid film, and it was funnier than I had expected. Seth Rogen is very believable as a slacker who eventually gets his shit together to accomplish what he set out to do. I give it high marks.

When we got home, we watched the latest film from the Netflix queue Faster. It was a pretty good film, but I felt it was lacking a little bit. The story was fairly cliché, but Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson was pretty believable as a bad ass out for revenge. The ‘twist’ of the film was pretty easily foreseeable before the final scene of the film. Which is always disappointing, it had a few light hearted moments, but overall I felt there could have been a little more useful dialogue and maybe a little more in the way of action. I’m not sure I would watch it again, but Tasha seemed to love it. So there’s that.

Sunday, spent most of the day with members of her family. Mostly with her mom specifically. Apparently her mom needed a hand with some flowers for a cousin’s wedding cake. I didn’t ask for details, it’s none of my concern. Her mom asked if I was sure that I wanted to marry into the family. Normally, I’m not one to be too concerned about those kind of comments, but the fact I was asked at least one other time during the course of the day… yeah, it puts up a red flag. I haven’t started rethinking the engagement and eventual marriage, but the thought has occurred to me that I should probably consider it. Then again, I’m not really a peach myself so maybe I’ll fit right in.

Later we went to a going away party for her sister, who’s leaving for her basic training with the Navy tomorrow. It wasn’t bad, really. Even though I didn’t really know any one there outside of her dad, brothers and sister. It was fine as far a family gatherings go. I wasn’t terribly comfortable, I’m not great with new people, and crowded places aren’t my specialty either. So there were those two strikes against it. Still, the conversation was good, and what little food I ate was good as well. All in all, not a bad day. I hope her sister enjoys her time in the Navy and hope she makes it through her time in the Navy safely. Not much else one can wish upon someone who made the choice to serve their country. Much respect regardless.

Anyway, it’s Monday and nearly time for me to leave for work. So, I guess I’ll leave this entry to stand on it’s own now. Who knows, maybe I’ll get some legitimate comments and such on this one. The song of the day today is “Red Flag” by Billy Talent.

About SteelCitySaint

I tried to stop me, but I'm too fantastic. Feel free to take a look at my blog and leave a comment on whatever it is I'm writing about.

Leave a Reply

