Imagined Injustice

It’s Wednesday, and just another day at the office. It seems once a week there are complaints about how this place isn’t fair. I tend to agree that where I work isn’t fair, but I do realize that it is fair just not obviously so. The problem isn’t so much that the place isn’t fair, but that it’s so laid back it’s impossible to tell what is part of procedure and what isn’t.

For example, I come to work early virtually every day. I go out to take a lunch break maybe twice a week (at most). I leave five minutes early most days (I figure it works if I show up 15-30 minutes early and leave 5 minutes early). I try not to complain very much about the way things are here. I know now that a lot of people would kill to be in a position like the one I’m in. The only thing I do that would be considered out of the ordinary is that most days I go outside for an hour or so and smoke a cigar. I realize it’s not something everyone would like to do at work, but I do and since I can I will continue to do it. At this point my biggest complaint centers around others who have habits that would get them fired at most other jobs.

Two of the sales representatives here at Francini arrive at least half an hour late every day. Take lunches that are regularly an hour and a half to two hours long. Often they leave about a half hour or so early as well. What this means is for between 2 and 3 hours a day we’re short staffed. Granted it doesn’t always make a difference whether we have a full staff or not, it’s frustrating to those of us who care to show a little professionalism. These representatives have been complaining about other employees taking smoke breaks (I’m sure I’m part of the problem) without regards to how often or when they do it. I have little sympathy on this one.

Going out for lunch and being gone for 2 hours and being out of contact is hurting business quite a bit. It makes us look unprofessional and honestly I think it’s helping to keep the company from reaching it’s full potential. When I go outside to smoke for an hour, I’m still on the property I’m still able to be found and if necessary I will stop smoking my cigar and come in to help a customer. I recognize that we’re about 15 minutes away from any restaurant and most food takes time to make, but can you not get your food to go? Since I’ve started here the only times I’ve eaten in a restaurant are the times I was out making visits to clients and potential clients.

Basically, what it comes down to is that there is a lot of problems here at Francini. If you’re going to take advantage of that, there’s really no need to complain about others doing the same thing.

About SteelCitySaint

I tried to stop me, but I'm too fantastic. Feel free to take a look at my blog and leave a comment on whatever it is I'm writing about.

Leave a Reply

