For the Better

It’s a Monday morning, and really it doesn’t feel like a Monday morning to me. I’m dressed for work, well mostly dressed for work since my necktie is in the truck I have to wait to put that on. I’ve showered, eaten breakfast and I have taken the dachshunds out for a morning walk. I’ll be taking them out again soon. I feel really good today, like I’m on top of things for a change. Not so much that I’m in complete control of my life, but I’m in enough control that I can make everything work for me the way I need it to. I’ve been making some changes in my life, trying to be a better person for myself, and for those around me (and those I want to have around me).

I’ve made a conscious effort to cut down on my caffeine intake, which has helped me with my weight loss. Most of the caffeine I had been taking in had come from soda. So cutting back on the caffeine has meant also cutting back on my intake of sugars which I’m sure has helped me cut my weight down the past couple weeks. I’ve also been making an effort to get out and help more customers while at work. Which has helped but since customer traffic is so inconsistent it hasn’t been as big of a factor in my weight change as the lack of caffeine and sugar have been. Still, my weight is down 7 pounds, so I’m doing something right.

I have also been trying to be more positive at work and at home. While at work it has been working pretty well, since I’m generally left alone to handle what I need to handle. At home it’s been a struggle. You see Tasha has been having some issues at work. Mostly relating to the way the store she’s working at is being managed and how even though she has plenty of experience in the company (more than the manager at said store, for example) she gets ignored when she’s trying to get everyone at the store on the ball and doing things the right way. I can relate to that, I’ve gone through that sort of thing at my job. While in my case it was more my fault for the way things around me seemed to be, in her case I can see where her frustration is coming from. Since I tend to feed off the emotions around me, it’s been a little difficult to keep up my positivity. If I can help her reach her dreams, then I’ll make the necessary sacrifices because she’s worth it.

Now that the things I’ve been doing to try and be a better person have started yielding results, I can start working on some more of my issues to really help with improving life at home. Find a way to become less lazy in regards to house cleaning and move preparations. Keep up on the dishes and things like that. Regardless, I know the ground work is laid and if I continue building from there the sky is really the limit for me. I know where I want to go, and I’m even closer to reaching it.

I’d like to wish my regular readers a great day and thank you for taking the time to read what I have to say. It means a lot to me, even if I don’t know all of your names.

About SteelCitySaint

I tried to stop me, but I'm too fantastic. Feel free to take a look at my blog and leave a comment on whatever it is I'm writing about.

Leave a Reply

