Self Reliance

The more I work and the more I go to school, the more I realize that I’ve always had the right idea when it comes to my ultimate goal. While the label I gave the goal would change, it would ultimately end up being the same thing, self reliance. My goal is to be in a position to do everything myself, not to rely on others. Which means I need to make a lot of changes in my life. Now, I tend to call my goal, freedom, as opposed to self reliance, but the point remains the same. I want to be in a position where the only person I’m relying on is myself, and to have the freedom to do the things I want to do, when I want to do them.

I missed class on Wednesday because I was trying to get the moving done. I emailed my course instructor, as well as a few classmates to get any notes I may have missed from the class as well as to know what the assignment would be. I didn’t receive anything from anyone, and because I didn’t follow up I had no clue what assignment was due for yesterday’s class. Now I’m behind and I have to catch up as I was too busy to finish my other assignment, again moving is a pain in the ass, to put it mildly. So I’m behind with two major assignments to do, and a third somewhat less major assignment also due on Monday. I’ll get through it because I’m awesome and I know I can, but it’s leading me to think I need to adjust the Code a little bit, maybe by changing one of the Tenets to “Do Not Rely on Others” or something similar.

On another note, I have some cigars I need to give away. I need to clear some space in my humidor for some milder cigars for my birthday gathering, that is if I don’t cancel because I know that no one will actually come to it. Okay, I don’t actually know, but I have a feeling that no one will make the effort to make it. On the plus side, at least one person has said they can’t make it so that instantly makes it better than the last time I tried to have a birthday gathering. Regardless of what happens, I’m going to call it a success and who knows maybe in a couple years when I try it again I’ll actually have friends who want to get together to celebrate something important to me. Okay, probably not.

About SteelCitySaint

I tried to stop me, but I'm too fantastic. Feel free to take a look at my blog and leave a comment on whatever it is I'm writing about.

Leave a Reply

