I think this is worthy of a post

As I’ve made mention of here in the blog at various points, I am currently attending Stevens-Henager College for my Associate’s Degree in Graphic Arts. After the interview I had with a temp agency about a position they had open, I decided I needed to start putting my work out there in a portfolio. Mostly because I was asked if I had a portfolio, and things of that nature. So I went over to coroflot.com and put my work from my photoshop class up in a portfolio and since I had to choose a specialty, I chose Print. I’m only into my second design class at SHC I don’t have the skills to be able to choose a specialty right now. I was doing it mostly to get my work out there, not expecting any job offers, freelance or otherwise.

But the next day, I checked my email and found a notification of a message from the editor-in-chief of Genesis Magazine. The magazine itself seems to be stories about people who have become successful, real people who’ve become successful. People who have been working at it, and things to really inspire common people. I like the idea of being a part of that. Back to the topic at hand, I was offered a chance to do some page layout work for the magazine. I asked for some specifics and after knowing those I decided to do some trial work for the magazine. If they really like my work, I’ll be getting freelance work from the magazine in the future, if they don’t like it… well I can say that I tried. I don’t see how this could go wrong. I do need to do some research to figure out how the tax situation on freelancing works, and all of that stuff, but I am really excited about this opportunity and I think I can really do a fine job now that I’m being given a shot.

Like I’ve said, if you want something to happen, you have to make it happen.

About SteelCitySaint

I tried to stop me, but I'm too fantastic. Feel free to take a look at my blog and leave a comment on whatever it is I'm writing about.

Leave a Reply

