Only a Couple Weeks

So it’s now August 2nd, two weeks until I turn 31. My annual doldrums have been tame this year. Maybe it’s because I’ve had a lot of other more immediate things to focus on besides my shortcomings in the past year, and the shortcomings from farther back in my past. I don’t know what’s keeping my doldrums from being more intense, but I’m not going to complain about it. Honestly, the fact that I have things in front of me to focus on has really made me a better person.

I mean, I’m going to school and getting into some more advanced features in Adobe’s InDesign software. I really like InDesign and I think it could be the kind of software I use on a regular basis in the real world. InDesign has proven very valuable to know as I try to get my foot in the door with some freelance print work. I’ve been doing some sponsor pages for Genesis Magazine and while the pages haven’t been perfect, I’ve done a pretty good job with only some minor tweaks needing to be made after my initial layout. So I’m pretty excited about that, I don’t think it’ll lead to being paid right away, but the sooner I can get the pro bono work out of the way, the sooner I can work on turning a profit.

Work is going reasonably well, although I don’t think I’ll ever get back to being as gung ho about working here as I used to be. I don’t hate the actual job so much as I hate my co-workers and their general ridiculousness. I’m trying not to complain about it just working to get through it and focus on the future that I’m slowly but surely building for myself. I will have a graphic design career and if I do it right I won’t have ridiculous co-workers around me to ruin my mood. I also hope that if I do get my own graphic design house off the ground, I’ll run it more logically than what my current company is running. Expansion is fine, until the bubble you’ve been riding on pops.

My personal life, as in making friends is really the only part of my life that’s lacking. Mostly because I’m not trying any more. Yeah, there are some folks I’d like to spend time with for conversation and things like that. If they’re not interested or not available to do that, then there’s nothing I can do about it. I’m hoping something develops organically (so to speak) in that department, but in order for that to work I would need to get out more. Financially I can’t do that right now, so here’s hoping something great happens soon for me financially. Still, it could be worse than what it is right now. The bills are paid, there’s a roof over my head, and I can still afford a cigar or two on occasion. It can get better, but it could also get a lot worse. I’m thankful for what I have.

Yeah, this was kind of a rambling entry, for that I apologize. In the meantime, you folks have a great day.

About SteelCitySaint

I tried to stop me, but I'm too fantastic. Feel free to take a look at my blog and leave a comment on whatever it is I'm writing about.

Leave a Reply

