Stress… I Need Time to Relax

You know, it’s been a stressful month. My birthday, while good was a bit stressful. Not so much the day itself, but making sure I had everything in order to make it the kind of day I wanted it to be. Then with the issues between the dealership I was buying my truck from and working things out so I could make it to work and class each day. Been trying to get things at least past planning stages for the wedding, although that’s more Tasha’s thing than my own. It’s just been a really odd month.

Oddly enough, I haven’t felt the desire to smoke a cigar. I think on some level I want to let some of the cigars I’ve got age a little bit. So there’s that, but there’s at least one that’s been in the humidor for about 6 months that maybe I should sit down one day and smoke. I want to acquire a few Cohibas from a certain island, to give to my groomsmen as gifts, or maybe some Partagas from said island. I haven’t completely decided yet, but they will certainly be from that island. So I need to come up with the funds for that acquisition.

I’ve kicked up my job search again, but haven’t found anything that pays quite as well as where I work now. I’ve got that on my mind as well as the usual garbage that populates it. I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. I do like my graphic arts classes, and that counts for something. I think if I put a little more effort into my classwork, I can get the feeling that I’m destined for some great things when I finish my degree and join the working world. I think I’ve got a decent eye for design, and I know what I want out of each design I put together. My classwork has generally been good, aside from some minor issues. So I’m happy about that.

Maybe I need to start talking to some print shops here locally and see if they need a graphic designer on their staff. I think it’d solve two of my stressors a little bit, as I’d have another job and I’d be using skills I’m learning in my Graphic Design classes. So not only would I get paid to get experience as a designer, but also I’d be building a portfolio with professional design work. It’s the lowest rung of the ladder for a designer, but if I skip a step, then I may not appreciate the success I have in the future. I don’t want to be a douche-bag.

Anyway, I think I may stay up late after class and work tonight and sit outside in the darkness, smoke a cigar, and try to untangle my mind a little bit. Stress is not good for anyone, for me specifically it leads to me getting a cold or the flu and I can’t afford that right now. A slightly tired day at work is a trade off I’m willing to make. Especially since we’re not as busy as we used to be here. Anyway, have a great day folks, I’m going to try for one myself.

About SteelCitySaint

I tried to stop me, but I'm too fantastic. Feel free to take a look at my blog and leave a comment on whatever it is I'm writing about.

Leave a Reply

