Considering a Drastic Change

So, it’s been awhile since I’ve written here. I apologize for that, things have been an adventure lately. Helping plan a wedding (I can’t take much credit for planning, my fiancee has been doing most of the work), figuring out what to do about my professional doldrums, as well as trying to lose some weight… yeah it’s been kind of a nightmare. Still, with my tax refund due to arrive no later than the 15th of this month, I’m working on making improvements. Unless something has gone wrong, I should have a vehicle the weekend following the receipt of my tax refund. I have some velashaping that I need to make sure I can still take advantage of, put the down payment in, but haven’t had the time nor the funds to finish that off. I’ll give them a call and see if they can help me out one way or another.

Yesterday afternoon, went to the WWE Smackdown house show here in Salt Lake City. Unlike the Raw show I went to a couple years ago, this one seemed almost like a dress rehearsal for TV. Regardless, it was a house show and no real surprising results. However, watching the show, Daniel Bryan (current World Heavyweight Champion) playing into his gimmick of a role model because he’s vegan schtick. I got a chuckle out of him informing the announcer to announce him as weighing in at 210 pounds, and a vegan. Still, it got me thinking about veganism for weight loss and to help overhaul my lifestyle a bit, make myself a little healthier. I mean, clearly getting protein isn’t a huge issue if pro wrestlers and MMA fighters are having this kind of diet. So I’ve been kicking around the idea of going vegan in the near future. (Possibly as soon as this weekend, picking up a lot of vegan friendly foods while shopping for groceries)

If there’s anyone reading who has undergone this change in lifestyle, I’m more than willing to hear about it. I know it’ll take some work if I want to make this fly, but I figure between my working out and a healthier diet I could hit my goal weight much sooner than anticipated.

Speaking of my goal weight, I’ve been kind of sputtering, I’ve lost a little weight since the last time I wrote here. I’m down to 315.8 pounds as of this morning, which is more than the current low water mark of 310 pounds I was at before my most recent previous post. Still, I’m trying to reach the first of my 4 goal weights and hoping I can keep it off once I reach it. Anyway, here’s where I stand right now with the weight loss and my workout routine.

Current Weight: 315.8 pounds
Goal Weight: 295.0 pounds
Weight To-Go: 20.8 pounds

Workout Regimen: 25 second plank, 25 seconds mountain climbers, 25 push ups, 25 stomach crunches, 1.0 mile walking
Next Workout Upgrade: Monday February 13, 2012, +5 seconds, +5 reps

I feel a little like a failure, at least I haven’t given up… that’s a big one. Hopefully today is good for me, and for everyone reading this. Thanks for your time.

About SteelCitySaint

I tried to stop me, but I'm too fantastic. Feel free to take a look at my blog and leave a comment on whatever it is I'm writing about.

5 comments

  1. The key is to surround yourself, your environment with vegan foods and snacks, otherwise you’ll sabotage yourself. If you don’t like cooking, start liking it, because that will also stack the odds in your favour.

    Good Luck!

  2. Thank you for the reply, I appreciate it. Cooking is something I enjoy, most of the time (I think everyone has days where they’d rather not cook). The only potential problem I foresee is that since my fiancee will not be going vegan (provided I follow through on the change, still debating the pros and cons) it will be impossible for me to keep only vegan friendly foods in the house. I do appreciate the comment though, and as I continue working through the pros and cons I’ll probably post more here in my blog,

  3. I’m not vegan, but I do follow a lacto-ovo vegetarian diet (which is vegan except I’ll eat eggs and dairy). Kroger’s has an organic food section that has lots of good options if you want to go vegan. They have one brand called Amy’s, which does some amazing foods. All of the Amy’s foods are vegetarian but some of them are vegan. They make it really easy to tell, which is which. One the back it will give an ingredients list, and if it’s vegan, it will say “Ingredients: (vegan)”…But they have lots of wonderful options. I do most of my shopping at either Kroger’s or Walmart, but I like Kroger’s selection much more.

    Hope that helps!

  4. Definitely a lot of help, I believe the Smith’s stores here locally are part of the same conglomerate as Kroger. So, that gives me a good thought as to where to go to find some vegan foods if I choose to go that route. As my next entry mentions, I haven’t completely decided. Since I’d be going this one alone, I’m not sure how hard it would be for me to pull it off.

    In a not totally surprising turn of events, some of my other friends have been less than supportive of this potential change I’m making.

  5. Well as far as your friends go, it’s really your decision as far as what you wanna eat. Does that make it easier to make the change? No…But you can still successfully make the change.

    Something I did that helped me make the change might work for you too. I tried to cut down on how much meat I was eating before I completely made the change. I got down to where I was just eating meat once a day. It might be a lunch meat sandwich for lunch or meat lasagna for dinner, but it was just once a day. I would replace it during the other meals with peanut butter jelly sandwiches, eggs, veggie burgers (which I highly recommend even if you stick with meat), pastas.

    But that may be worth a try. It lets you continue to eat some meat, but less of it than before. And maybe a good number for you is meat twice a day instead of three times. It’s all about what you can stick with and works for you. That’s the secret to all these exercise and diet plans. It’s less about the specifics of what you’re doing and more about doing something healthy that you also really enjoy doing too.

Leave a Reply

