Changes to be Made

It’s Tuesday evening, I’m outside smoking a Cain Daytona robusto. It’s a medium-bodied cigar, with very complex flavors. While smoking this cigar, I’ve come to the conclusion that I still have many changes to make to my life. Some I started before, but wedding planning and other drama caused it to fall by the wayside. Others are the product of concern of my better half for my professional future. Others are made out of anger reaching unbearable levels. I figure if I get back into the blogging routine, my readers (if they’re still out there) can help keep me on track.

I need to get back on my exercise routine, and with that eat healthier. My wife (I’m still not used to typing or saying that yet) and I have a plan because by her own admission she could stand to get healthier as well. We’re going pretty extreme, salads every day for the next two weeks. Which is fine, I can make large salads and not have them be extreme amounts of caloric action. If I couple that with a focused exercise routine, I’m sure I can drop weight pretty quickly. The hardest part for me personally is cutting out soda. I enjoy the taste of soda, and I would need a lot more tea than I currently drink to match the caffeine intake that I currently get from soda. Although, I have been making an active effort already to cut back on soda. So, that’s a first step on getting back to a healthier lifestyle.

The other change I really need to make is to get a new job. Don’t get me wrong, I love the work I do. Helping people get their Nests to work with their HVAC system, or at least helping them figure out that the Nest won’t work with their system for whatever reason. However, I hate where I work. I hate the fact while I was out on vacation my schedule changed. I hate that I have to constantly remind people of questions and requests I have. I hate the incompetency of those above me on the ladder, and I hate a good percentage of my co-workers. Ultimately, I need to get out of a pure call center environment. It’s killing me, and I’m stressed out almost all the time. Like I said, I like the work I’m doing, just don’t like working with those around me in a place that really has no idea where it’s going. I expect a certain amount of bullshit working in a call center, but some of the recent stuff has been just too much.

Married life however, is treating me fairly well. It doesn’t feel much different than when Tasha and I started living together. Maybe it’s because we’re still in the newlywed phase of the marriage, but I still need to improve my communication to make things better. I know Tasha cares about me, and wants me to be here for a long time, but I have to hold up my end. I have to work on that, a lot. I’m not a big talker, I prefer to let my actions speak for themselves, but sometimes words work better for everyone.

Needless to say, I have a lot of self-improvement projects to work on now and into the future. I’m sure I can be successful, just need reminders that it’s worthwhile.

About SteelCitySaint

I tried to stop me, but I'm too fantastic. Feel free to take a look at my blog and leave a comment on whatever it is I'm writing about.

Leave a Reply

